Cowley College

Cowley College recognized in data quality awards

June 30, 2022

At the recently held Kansas Board of Regents (KBOR) 2022 Data Quality and Planning Conference, KBOR President and CEO Dr. Blake Flanders presented Data Quality Awards to Cowley Community College (Cowley College) and Salina Area Technical College (Salina Tech).

Now in its 10th year, the Data Quality Award serves to recognize institutions for excellence in the quality of data submitted and the timeliness of submissions. Awards are given each June to the two institutions with superior ratings, recognizing the outstanding team of professionals who provide institutional data to the Board. This year, each awardee scored the highest points of institutions from its sector, community colleges and technical colleges. In addition to data quality, Debbie Phelps (Cowley College) and Denise Hoeffner (Salina Tech) scored additional points for each institution in support of Board objectives and leadership among peers.

“Big shout out to Debbie Phelps and all involved in the data,” Cowley College president Dr. Dennis C. Rittle said.

Data is submitted throughout the year to support a variety of purposes, including distribution formulas for state and federal funds, Board and legislative agendas, research initiatives, federal and state compliance, and consumer information such as the tools found on the Kansas Higher Education Statistics and the Kansas DegreeStats websites ( and

“It’s an honor for Cowley College to be selected for this award because it recognizes the impact of high-quality work by our employees and their efforts to support the Kansas Board of Regents’ new strategic plan,” Phelps said. “A special thanks to the members of our Knowledge Management team and to the faculty and staff who participated in our collaborative project with the National Institute for Student Success at Georgia State University.”

Included on the 2022 selection committee were representatives from last year’s recipients, Emporia State University and Fort Scott Community College. Other past recipients include Butler Community College, Coffeyville Community College, Flint Hills Technical College, Johnson County Community College, Kansas City Kansas Community College, Neosho County Community College, Pittsburg State University, Seward County Community College, the University of Kansas, Washburn University, Washburn Institute of Technology, and the Wichita State Campus of Applied Sciences and Technology.

Rama Peroo

Director of Institutional Communication & Public Relations
Cowley College
125 South 2nd Street
Arkansas City, KS 67005