Cowley College

Vespers puts audience in the Christmas spirit

December 12, 2018

Performing Christmas carols and songs people treasure this time of year, the Cowley College Concert Choir, CC Singers, Jazz Band, and Concert Band treated audience members to an afternoon of holiday music during the annual Christmas Vespers Concert held Sunday in the Robert Brown Theatre.

The Jazz Band performed Let It Snow! Let it Snow! Let it Snow!, The Christmas Song, and Christmas: The Joy and Spirit, and was led by Tyler Gauldin.

The Concert Band performed Sleigh Ride, Christmas Lights, White Christmas, and The Night Before Christmas, and was led by Evan Ricker, the director of bands and instrumental music at Cowley College. Mark Flickinger, Chair of the Visual and Performing Arts Department, served as the narrator during The Night Before Christmas.

The CC Singers then took to the stage to perform Jingle Bell Rock, Baby, It’s Cold Outside, Mary, Did You Know, and Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas. While, the Concert Choir performed Hodie!, Jingle Bells, Still, Still, Still, Hark, the Herald Angels Sing; Angels We Have Heard on High, Joy to the World, What Child is This, and Peace, Peace.

The CC Singers and Concert Choir were led by director of vocal music Lindsay Allen. Music instructor Stephen Butler served as an accompanist.

“This concert is so special because it really feels like the kickoff to the Christmas season,” Allen said. “My favorite part of this concert was the audience sing-along to our final song Peace, Peace. The candlelight and all of the voices singing together really created a magical moment to end on. I am so proud of the students as they really came together to make some beautiful music.”

CC Singers are: Tristan Barragan, Kelsey Carpenter, Sarah Flickinger, Jacob Giger, Meikalo Hall, Caden Lantz, Jon Lee, Caitlyn Lewis, Jacob Michaelis, Emily Ramsey, Brittany Rosenberg, Kaylee Schulte. Matthew Sinnett, and Adam Young.

Concert Choir members are: Steve Altamirano, Tristan Barragan, Ellie Boatman, Kelsey Carpenter, Kadie Carrell, Ben Chinn, Chelo Curtis, Sarah Flickinger,

Jacob Giger, Amanda Glenn, Luther Griffith, Meikalo Hall, Hanah Henry, Caden Lantz, Jon Lee, Caitlyn Lewis, Jacob Michaelis, Jeannie Qualls, Emily Ramsey, Brittany Rosenberg, Kaylee Schulte, Matthew Sinnett, Markie Swanson, and Adam Young.

Jazz Band members are: Aysia Chavez, Connor Lancaster, Alex Schnackenberg, Matthew Sinnett, Dade Brace, Kamdon Fuqua, Brycen Stuteville, Lucas Griffith, John Lundy, and Shae Nichols.

Concert Band members are: Valerie Hancock, Amanda Jolly, Summer Long, Mackenzie Lund, Seth Messner, Veronica Mascaro, David Bartlett, Sarah Larson, Dalton Cerullo, Abbiah Conrad, Mikaya Godwin, Philip Howe, Sarah Manning, Jessica Neises, Asa Unruh, Alyssa Waggoner, Ben Balleau, Tyler Gauldin, Tyler Kemp, Alex Schnackenberg, Aysia Chavez, Corey Firebaugh, Kamdon Fuqua, Lucas Griffith, John Lundy, Madison Isham, Edie Reese, Zach Rankin, Ashlee Baysinger, Todd Clubine, Alexandra Hopkins, Wyatt Smith, Kenneth Tysick, Dade Brace, Jacob Giger, Jason Hardin, Matt Allen, Jarrod McCurry, Wesley Calvert, Braeden Held, Kameron Holmes, Hayes Cannon, Alena Horinek, Moriah Lyne, Shae Nichols, and Justin Phillips.