Cowley College

Press Release

News & Events

Press Release


February 26, 2018

Cowley A team places third at KCQB East Regional

Two teams represented Cowley College’s Collegiate Quiz Bowl Saturday at Allen Community College in Iola, KS. The Cowley A team placed third out of eight teams, while the Cowley “B” team placed seventh.

The Cowley A team was made up of Aimee Schwintz, Matthew Sinnett, Edgar Fuentes, and Jacob Michaelis. The team won four rounds against Fort Scott A, Fort Scott B, Neosho County, and Cowley B, while losing one round to regional champion Johnson County.

“It was fun to see both teams work together to play their best when the rounds were neck and neck,” Edgar Fuentes said.

According to Cowley Quiz Bowl coach Dianne Flickinger, the high point for Cowley A was coming within 100 points of Johnson County. Johnson was able to correctly answer the last two of 24 questions to secure their win.

“Cowley A has shown much improvement since October,” Flickinger said. “They were averaging more toss-up and bonus questions than usual, which brought them within 100 points of Johnson in the fifth round.”

The Cowley B team, made up of Symantha Shelton, Kamdon Fuqua, and newcomer Adrien Ramirez, managed winning one round against Allen and tying another round with Fort Scott A, while losing to Coffeyville, Cowley A, and Neosho.

Schwintz was Cowley’s top individual finisher as she placed sixth out of 29 competitors. Kamdon Fuqua and Matthew Sinnett finished right behind Schwintz in seventh and eighth place, respectively. Shelton finished 13th, Fuentes placed 15th, while Ramirez and Michaelis placed 20th and 25th, respectively.

Cowley’s Quiz Bowl teams will now prepare for the state tournament April 6-7 in Salina, KS. Cowley finished second at the state tournament a year ago, but will be going up against some stiff competition.

“We are very aware we will be going up against three other teams that have gone to nationals, so our goal is to finish fourth,” Flickinger said.

Pictured, from left, Aimee Schwintz, Matthew Sinnett, Edgar Fuentes, and Jacob Michaelis.